含有"plague"标签的书籍, 共7条结果
排序: 书名 / 出版 / 评分 / 更新

Plagues and Peoples

William H. McNeill / Anchor / 1975-12-31 / 0 次下载
Upon its original publication, Plagues and Peoples was an immediate critical and popular success, offering a radically new interpretation of world history as seen through the extraordinary impact--political, demographic, ecological, and psychological--of disease on cultures. From the conquest of Mexico by smallpox as much as by the Spanish, to the bubonic plague in China, to the typhoid epidemic in Europe, the history of disease is the history of humankind. With the identification of AIDS in the early 1980s, another chapter has been added to this chronicle of events, which William McNeill explores in his new introduction to this updated editon.Thought-provoking, well-researched, and compulsively readable, Plagues and Peoples is that rare book that is as fascinating as it is scholarly, as intriguing as it is enlightening. "A brilliantly conceptualized and challenging achievement" (Kirkus Reviews), it is essential reading, offering a new perspective on human history.Amazon.com ReviewNo small themes for historian William McNeill: he is a writer of big, sweeping books, from The Rise of the West to The History of the World. Plagues and Peoples considers the influence of infectious diseases on the course of history, and McNeill pays special attention to the Black Death of the 13th and 14th centuries, which killed millions across Europe and Asia. (At one point, writes McNeill, 10,000 people in Constantinople alone were dying each day from the plague.) With the new crop of plagues and epidemics in our own time, McNeill's quiet assertion that "in any effort to understand what lies ahead the role of infectious disease cannot properly be left out of consideration" takes on new significance. From the PublisherMcNeill's highly acclaimed work is a brilliant and challenging account of the effects of disease on human history. His sophisticated analysis and detailed grasp of the subject make this book fascinating reading. By the author of The Rise Of The West.

Sick

Brett Battles / CreateSpace / 2011-01-01 / 0 次下载
For fans of Stephen King, Blake Crouch, and Michael Crichton comes a new, heart-pounding thriller by Brett Battles...Daniel Ash wakes after midnight to the cry of his daughter. Just a bad dream, he thinks. She’s had them before. Yet he can’t help but worry when she cries out again as he pads down the hallway. Stepping through her doorway, he expects to find her sitting up in bed, frightened by a nightmare.But the nightmare is his. It’s real. And it's just beginning...Something is burning Ash's daughter alive. Something horrible that is spreading beyond the walls of their home, and taking no prisoners. Thirty seconds later, Ash will discover his daughter isn’t the only one in his family infected, and as his world spins, coming apart at the seams, a team of armed men in biohazard suits bursts into his house.But these aren’t the good guys.They haven’t come to save Ash’s family. They’ve come to separate them, to finish what they started.The problem is Ash refuses to disappear. He wants only one thing: to find those responsible.Because humanity is on the brink of execution.And man is pulling the trigger.WHAT OTHERS ARE SAYING ABOUT SICK:“Brett Battles is a master of the thriller genre. SICK not only grabs you by the throat, but by the heart and gut as well, and by the time you finish you feel as if you've just taken a runaway train through dangerous territory. Buy this book now. You won't regret it.”—Robert Browne, author of THE PARADISE PROPHECY.“Like a fever, SICK makes you sweat and keeps you up all night, wondering what the hell is happening. It'll make your heart race like someone shot you with an EpiPen. You think Battles was badass before? He just cranked it up to 500 joules. CLEAR!”—popculturenerd.com“SICK is Brett Battles at his best (which is saying a great deal), a thriller that also chills, with a secret at its core that's almost too scary to be contained within the covers of a book. As always, Battles juggles plot lines with the best of them, and his characters jump off the page. SICK deserves to be a best-seller.”—Tim Hallinan, author of the Edgar nominated THE QUEEN OF PATPONGPRAISE FOR BRETT BATTLES’ JONATHAN QUINN SERIES:“Brett Battles has established himself as one of today’s best thriller writers, right up there with Lee Child, Barry Eisler, and Thomas Perry.”—Deadly Pleasures magazine“The best word I can use to describe his writing is addictive.”—James Rollins, author of the Sigma Force series“Quinn is one part James Bond, one part Jason Bourne.”—Nashville Book Worm“I’m on the edge of my seat, awaiting future installments of Quinn’s Adventures.”—Jeffery Deaver, author of the Lincoln Rhyme’s series“Battles has a true gift for writing thrillers...”—Crimespree magazine“The action is heart-pounding, gripping, and always engaging.”—Tucson Citizen“Battles is a master storyteller.”—Sheldon Siegel, author of PERFECT ALIBI

Day by Day Armageddon

J. L. Bourne / Simon and Schuster / 2009-09-29 / 0 次下载
EDITORIAL REVIEW: START INTERCEPT SPORADIC NEW REPORTS INDICATE CHAOS AND VIOLENCE SPREADING THROUGH U.S. CITIES. AN UNKNOWN EVIL IS SWEEPING THE PLANET. THE DEAD ARE RISING TO CLAIM THE EARTH AS THE NEW DOMINANT SPECIES IN THE FOOD CHAIN. INTERCEPT COMPLETE SURVIVOR, In your hands is the handwritten journal depicting one man's struggle for survival. Trapped in the midst of global disaster, he must make decisions; choices that ultimately mean life, or the eternal curse to walk as one of them. **ENTER IF YOU WILL INTO HIS WORLD. THE WORLD OF THE UNDEAD.**

The Judas Strain

James Rollins / HarperCollins / 2008-05-12 / 0 次下载
From Publishers WeeklyThe special-ops trained scientists of Sigma Force battle the criminals of the shadowy Guild in bestseller Rollins's lively third Sigma Force thriller (after Black Order). An ancient and deadly plague, the Judas Strain (which afflicted Marco Polo), has suddenly re-emerged. Gray Pierce, a Sigma operative, and Seichan, a Guild defector, pursue clues to the nature of the plague to the Vatican, Istanbul (with a fine shootout in the Hagia Sophia mosque), Marco Polo's tomb and, finally, Cambodia's Angkor Wat. Meanwhile, Guild members hijack a cruise ship full of plague victims (to provide experimental subjects for the weaponizing of the plague), and Gray's parents are taken hostage (though the senior Grays prove feistier than their kidnappers reckon). Sophisticated the plot isn't, but Rollins includes more than enough action and suspense to keep readers turning pages. 8-city author tour. (July) Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. FromThe crack, ultrasecret Sigma Force team returns in another adventure that, as usual, unfolds at breakneck speed. Sigma Force, made up of former Special Forces officers trained as experts in various scientific fields ("killer scientists," one of their number calls them), scours the world for technologies that could help or threaten the U.S. This time the group's mission involves a devastating bacteriological plague, a mysterious cryptogram that may predate humanity, and the deadly truth about what happened after Marco Polo's expedition to China. After a handful of Sigma Force novels, Rollins has fine-tuned the formula to precision: characters rendered in broad strokes, punchy dialogue, short paragraphs that propel us headlong through the story. The novels are like prose versions of comic books, or lightly fleshed out movie treatments. But this is not a criticism, at least not completely. The books' style perfectly matches their subject matter, and it's impossible not to be swept up by their energy and excitement. Action/adventure fans unfamiliar with Rollins' work should be emphatically urged to read this series. David PittCopyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved

Year of wonders: a novel of the plague

Geraldine Brooks / Viking / 2001-08-09 / 0 次下载
SUMMARY: This gripping historical novel is based on the true story of Eyam, the "Plague Village", in the rugged mountain spine of England. In 1666, a tainted bolt of cloth from London carries bubonic infection to this isolated settlement of shepherds and lead miners. A visionary young preacher convinces the villagers to seal themselves off in a deadly quarantine to prevent the spread of disease. The story is told through the eyes of eighteen-year-old Anna Frith, the vicar's maid, as she confronts the loss of her family, the disintegration of her community, and the lure of a dangerous and illicit love. As the death toll rises and people turn from prayers and herbal cures to sorcery and murderous witch-hunting, Anna emerges as an unlikely and courageous heroine in the village's desperate fight to save itself. Exploring love and learning, fear and fanaticism, and the struggle of science and religion to interpret the world at the cusp of the modern era, Year of Wonders is at once a story of unconventional love and a richly detailed evocation of a riveting moment in history. Like Arthur Golden's Memories of a Geisha and A. S. Byatt's Posession, Yea

The Decameron

Giovanni Boccaccio / Penguin Classics / 2003-08-15 / 0 次下载
SUMMARY: Translated with an Introduction and Notes by G. H. McWilliam

The Infection

Craig DiLouie / Permuted Press / 2011-02-15 / 0 次下载
ReviewNot just another zombie story ... Unflinching horror and surreal, almost dreamlike imagery combine to make THE INFECTION a disturbing, nightmarish read. -David Moody, author of HATER A wild ride into the darkest regions of zombie territory. Brilliant and terrifying! -Jonathan Maberry, author of PATIENT ZERO 28 DAYS LATER meets THE MIST ... a definite page-turner right from the get-go all the way to the insanely intense final scene. -TheGOREScore.com Product DescriptionFive ordinary people must pay the price of survival at the end of the world. A mysterious virus suddenly strikes down millions. Three days later, its victims awake with a single purpose: spread the Infection. As the world lurches toward the apocalypse, some of the Infected continue to change, transforming into horrific monsters. In one American city, a small group struggles to survive. Sarge, a tank commander hardened by years of fighting in Afghanistan. Wendy, a cop still fighting for law and order in a lawless land. Ethan, a teacher searching for his lost family. Todd, a high school student who sees second chances in the end of the world. Paul, a minister who wonders why God has forsaken his children. And Anne, their mysterious leader, who holds an almost fanatical hatred for the Infected. Together, they fight their way to a massive refugee camp where thousands have made a stand. There, what's left of the government will ask them to accept a mission that will determine the survival of them all--a dangerous journey back onto the open road and into the very heart of Infection.

Website announcement 隨機簽到
 激活碼兌換: 
Browse by category Website friend chain Website app

TG group

Tencent reading group

 Website message 
Add book